• RMS 2022 Awards Winners revealed
    Elizabeth Bik
  • Michael Sheetz
  • Steve Couzens

News & Views

RMS 2022 Awards Winners revealed

Oct 03 2022

The Royal Microscopical Society has announced this year’s RMS Award winners giving formal recognition to individuals making a special contribution across microscopy, cytometry and imaging.

The range of awards covering scientific achievement, education and outreach, as well as technical support and more, are open to applicants from across the globe, to ensure those making a real difference within the microscopy community receive the recognition they deserve.

RMS President, Professor Grace Burke said: “It is always a privilege to announce our award-winners and give formal recognition to the work of some of our leaders in microscopy. My warmest congratulations to all of the 2022 winners. It has been a pleasure to read about their incredible achievements and contributions to the microscopy community and beyond.”

The RMS Presidents Award which recognises exceptional voluntary contributions to the work of the RMS were presented to

Dr Lynne Joyce, RMS Council and Former Honorary Treasurer; Agar Scientific (Retired)

Dr Debbie Stokes, RMS Council and Former International Secretary; Nanovizz

Mr Steve Couzens, Principal Clinical Scientist, Immunophenotyping Laboratory, University Hospital of Wales

The RMS Vice President Award, in recognition of critical contributions to microscopy research, technique development or education by a scientist, engineer or laboratory research staff, was this year presented to

Ms Xiangli Zhong, Senior Experimental Officer in the School of Materials, University of Manchester

The Chris Hawes Award for Outreach and Education, celebrating a substantial contribution to the field of education, or to outreach and public engagement, over the course of someone's career went to

Dr Elisabeth Bik, Science Consultant, Harbers Bik LLC

The Pearse Prize, established in 1982 to honour the work of Professor AGE Pearse and recognising significant contributions to histochemisty and life sciences either through the development of a new technique or through the application of existing methods, was presented to

Professor Michael P Sheetz, Robert A Welch Distinguished University Chair in Chemistry at University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston, USA.
For further details on the Science Section Award Winners and also the Scientific Achievement Award winners please visit the RMS website.

More information online

Digital Edition

MAC Guide 2023/24

December 2023

Buyers Guide - Major producers of analytical equipment who wish to introduce and sell their products to buyers in science and industry - Over 1,000 products and services that these companys man...

View all digital editions


Instrumentation Live

Jan 17 2024 Birmingham, UK

Smart Factory Expo 2023

Jan 24 2024 Tokyo, Japan

Arab Health

Jan 29 2024 Dubai, UAE

Nano Tech 2024

Jan 31 2024 Tokyo, Japan

SLAS 2024

Feb 03 2024 Boston, MA, USA

View all events